• Morgan County School System

    Morgan County's Central Office Campus is located at: The Morgan County School System consists of 17 schools and an alternative school, The Morgan County Learning Center.  Five high schools, five junior high schools (K-8), three middle schools, and four elementary schools are located at a variety of communities throughout Morgan County. 



    235 Highway 67 South
    Decatur, Alabama 35603

      The phone number is 256-353-6442.


    Our Theme for 2016-2017



    Morgan County Schools Mission
     Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared to Lead.

    Morgan County Schools Vision 

     Morgan County Schools will provide opportunities for all students and employees to excel in learning, establish strong relationships and foster positive leadership.

    Central Office Organizational Chart

    CLICK HERE to be directed to the MCS Central Office Organizational Chart

    History of Morgan County Schools


    Before Alabama became a state in 1819, Morgan County was already established. On February 6, 1818, Cotaco County was formed from the lands acquired from the Cherokee Indians by the Treaty of Turkeytown. Cotaco County was named after the Indian tribe that lived along the banks of the Cotaco Creek. Summerville (now Somerville) was the county seat for Cotaco County. On June 14, 1821, Cotaco County was renamed Morgan County after Brigadier General Daniel Morgan, one of the heroes of the Revolutionary War best known for his strategic victory at the Battle of Cow Pens.

    In 1881 the county seat was moved to present day Decatur, named after Commodore Stephen Decatur, a hero of the War of 1812. One of the first schools in Morgan County was a one room school in Hartselle in 1868. Early records also document a Male and Female College in Hartselle in 1883, which is considered one of the best early colleges in North Alabama. In 1890, the Male and Female Institute of Moulton was moved to Danville. The school was upgraded from eight years of age to young men and women. In 1891, thirty-four students were admitted to this school. The faculty consisted of Dr. Josephus Shackleford, Professors Lila and John Tidwell (later a Morgan County Superintendent of Education). The building was destroyed by fire in December of 1898 and later moved to Trinity. There was also a Morgan County College created sometime after 1891 which was located in the old Morgan County Court House in Somerville. The college later became a military academy for a short time and then in 1855 the Somerville Female Academy was formed and remained open into the 1900's. The Falkville Normal College was founded by Professor J.B. Sherrill. The first annual catalog of the Falkville Normal College bears the date of 1896-97. Classes for the Normal College began in the Masonic Lodge at Falkville and were later moved to the two-story structure when construction was finished.

    In 1907 the student enrollment in Morgan County was 3,907. There were seventy-five different school locations. In many communities, there were two schools, one for Caucasian students and one for African-American students. The first county high school was legally named at Hartselle before the building could be constructed. Classes were held in the Hartselle College Building. In February 1910 classes were moved to the new building. In the early years, many honors were captured by the school in music, speaking, and debating. Enrollment records from 1927 document that 4,946 students attended sixty-six different schools in Morgan County. In 1928 the number of schools was reduced to forty-eight with an enrollment of 4,987. Schools continued to close and merge as some buildings were destroyed by fire and communities joined together in building larger structures with four or more rooms that would house more students and several teachers.


    Superintendents of Morgan County Schools



    First Name

    Last Name

    1856 - 1858

    Harrison M.


    1858 - 1860



    1860 - 1865

    John F.


    1865 - 1869



    1869 - 1871

    Christopher C.


    1871 - 1874



    1874 - 1877

    William M.


    1877 - 1888

    Edward J.


    1888 - 1890

    Frank  J.


    1890 - 1892

    M. D.


    1892 - 1894

    W. H.


    1894 - 1896

    John C.


    1896 - 1898

    Henry T.


    1898 - 1902

    E. L.


    1902 - 1904

    John C.


    1904 - 1912

    Phillip A.


    1912 - 1920

    John C.


    1920 - 1932

    E. L.


    1932 - 1939

    George T.


    1939 - 1943

    I. J.


    1943 - 1947

    S. O.


    1947 - 1953

    Hafford R.


    1953 - 1963

    Lester E.


    1963 - 1971

    J. C.


    1971 - 1975



    1975 - 1979



    1979 - 1983



    1983 - 1991



    1991 - 1995



    1995 - 1997

    Ferrell D.


    1997 - 1998



    1998 - 2006

    Don W.


    2007 - 2010

    Robert L.


    2011 - present

    Bill W.

    Hopkins, Jr.

    Morgan County Schools has made an investment in developing students who are leaders--leaders both today and tomorrow.  The Leader in Me has been established in each Elementary School in Morgan County.  All 17 schools have been trained in 7 Habits and are striving to develop strong leaders that make our community even stronger.

    7 Habits of Highly Effective People


    1.  Be Proactive - (Take responsibility for your life)

    2. Begin With The End In Mind - (Define your mission and goals in life)

    3. Put First Things First - (Prioritize and do the most important things first)

    4. Think Win-Win - (Have an everyone-can-win attitude)

    5. Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood - (Listen to people    sincerely)

    6. Synergize - (Work together to achieve more)

    7. Sharpen the Saw - (Renew yourself regularly)


    "We first make our habits, then our habits make us."  - English Poet

    MCS Demographics

    Morgan County School System's student population flutates yearly between 7,800 to 8,000 students. 

     The Morgan County School system is proud to have 100% of its certified staff highly qualified.

     Total certified staff: 656   

     Bachelors degree: 232           Masters degree: 387        Specialists: 34       Doctorate: 3

     Support staff

    Instructional Aides: 99      School Nurses: 16     Office Personnel: 36     Child Nutrition Workers: 101

    Bus Drivers: 100               Bus Maintenance: 8     Custodians: 54         Maintenance: 17